1 East Wacker Drive, 3rd Floor
Chicago, IL 60601 | Map
Tel: 312-630-7979
Fax: 312-630-1183

James J. Stamos


James J. Stamos is a 1980 graduate of the University of Illinois College of Law. Upon graduation, Mr. Stamos joined the Chicago firm of Rooks, Pitts & Poust where he worked primarily in medical malpractice defense and construction litigation and coverage issues. He co-authored the chapter on insurance coverage in the 1984 Illinois Institute for Continuing Legal Education (IICLE) Construction Litigation Handbook and its revisions. He authored the chapter of rescission for the 1994 IICLE Real Estate Litigation Handbook and the 2001 and 2004 revisions and co-authored the chapter on Emergency Medicine in the 1996 IICLE Medical Malpractice Handbook and its 1998 revision. He authored the 2005 revision to the chapter on Malpractice Litigation in West's Law of Medical Practice in Illinois and each revision and supplement to date.

Mr. Stamos joined Coffield Ungaretti Harris & Slavin (now Nixon Peabody) in 1984 and became an equity partner in 1987. At Coffield Ungaretti, he practiced commercial litigation, representing both defendants and plaintiffs in cases involving employment, securities, commodities and options, real estate and partnership disputes, financial litigation and medical malpractice defense. He has tried over 70 jury trials as well as many bench trials and arbitrations. He has also handled many matters in the state and federal courts of appeal and has argued successfully before the Indiana Supreme Court. Mr. Stamos is a Fellow of the American College of Trial Lawyers, a member of the Federal Trial Bar for the Northern District of Illinois and a member of the Society of Trial Lawyers. He is a former member of the Illinois Supreme Court Rules Committee and is an arbitrator for FINRA. His current practice is primarily in commercial, financial and employment litigation and professional liability defense as well as the defense of insurance bad faith claims. Mr. Stamos has been elected an Illinois "Super Lawyer" in every year since the inception of the award in 2005.

Back To Top